My very first fondant cake!

As a baker, one of the things in my to-do list was to try my hand at fondant. I was quite hesitant to do so since I was never good with clay/play-doh when I was younger and not to mention, I don’t like eating fondant.

A few years ago, I came across a blogger who used Marshmallow Fondant (MMF) who said it was tastier than regular fondant. I decided to make my own instead of buying since it would be a lot cheaper and it also looked fairly easy to make.. but very sticky and messy. Hahaha..

I’ve been seeing loads of really cute ruffle and gradient cakes that I wanted to make my own. I know the design is rather forgiving since it’s a bit rustic but I like rustic designs anyway so I decided to go for it!

As you can see, I wasn’t able to estimate well before cutting the bottom edges xD

Forming the rose and ruffles…

Ta-daaaa~!

It looks a bit rough around the edges (plus the cornstarch is still visible) but I’m quite proud of this creation ^^┬áTil next time ya’ll! :D

For the Marshmallow Fondant recipe and directions, please click here.

Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I still have yet to try fondant, but it’s on my list. So, was the MMF tastier than the regular stuff? What is your opinion, would you do it again?

    Reply
    • Kat

       /  November 5, 2011

      Hey Jana,

      I’ve never tried making regular fondant nor have I tasted it truly because it just reminds me of eating clay (and I get grossed out from things like that xD) or they’ve hardened too much that I just peel them off. The MMF smells pretty good and just tastes like sugar and is rather easy to make. Just my two cents, but I’d rather make my own since I have no idea what they put in those ready made ones at the store. xD

      Reply
  2. It’s beautiful! Lovely work. Very impressive!

    Reply
  3. Jessica

     /  March 8, 2012

    I’m making a wedding cake this summer and the bride wants this ruffled look – how did you exactly do this? Thank you for sharing :)

    Reply
    • Kat

       /  March 9, 2012

      Hi Jessica,

      I cut about an inch wide strips of fondant then on one side with a toothpick (I don’t have the tools xD), I rolled the tooth pick on the fondant to make it thinner and create ruffles/frills.

      Or I found this picture: http://media.cakecentral.com/files/step_1_168.jpg .. You don’t have to have the scalloped cutter, you can just use a plain round one and use the toothpick or stick and roll it on the side :) If I’m not mistaken, it’s the same technique some people do with rose petals to create that more softer look :)

      Thanks for visiting! :D

      Reply
      • Jessica

         /  March 9, 2012

        Great thank you! Just one more question – did you attach the ruffles with buttercream or vodka? Thanks again! :)

    • Kat

       /  March 9, 2012

      I used water :) You’re very welcome and good luck with the cake! ^^

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

