Mochi Ice Cream

Last weekend, I was in Manila for the long weekend. Between traffic, going around malls, shopping, window shopping and whatnot, there was the food. Although this post won’t be about those places where dined at (as I didn’t bring my camera to document.. surprise, surprise!), one thing I was able to try were some mochi ice cream which I’ve been wanting to try and they didn’t disappoint.

For the past few days, it has been incredibly hot here. Perfect, I thought, to try my hand at making mochis. After searching for a recipe, I learnt that it’s incredibly easy to make. Just really sticky and messy but it isn’t as time consuming as I thought. And very delicious.

These mochi ice creams were filled with the only flavor available in my freezer: Double Dutch, which I’m not so sure if it’s a flavor outside the Philippines but it’s vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup, chocolate chips, cashews and marshmallows.

One thing I will try next time is to learn how to properly wrap without an obvious seal/wrap since as you can see, the mochi is really thick at the bottom. Aside from that, is there something you can add so that the mochi stays slightly chewy from the freezer without needing to thaw a bit?

I followed the recipe over at Use Real Butter.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. The ice cream looks delicious and simple to make. Love the presentation, looks really good.

    Reply
  2. Hi! stumbled upon your blog and so far I’m loving it. :D
    would you mind sharing the recipe for the mochi?
    Yeah I don’t think Double Dutch flavor exist outside the Philippines

    Reply
  3. Hi Kat! I’ve been following your blog for a while now, but have been a little too caught up in other things to leave a proper comment. I like reading your blog, and your photos are really good. I love mochi, but have never thought of making my own or using ice-cream as the filling. I t sounds divine! May I know where you got the recipe? Thanks! :)

    Reply
  4. I love the way you featured your unique ice cream. I’m pretty sure that I will be replicating it :)

    Reply
    • Kat

       /  September 6, 2011

      Thank you! The ice cream flavor is readily available here in the Philippines. :) It would be fun to create more flavors though!

      Reply
  5. Bravo to you for attempting to make your own. I’ve only bought mine from the Asian markets, I must confess. But I love, love, LOVE the idea of making some with more unusual ice cream flavors inside.

    Reply
    • Kat

       /  September 6, 2011

      Thank you! It was much easier than I thought xD And I agree to making more with unusual flavors! ^^

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

