My first Daring Baker challenge entry + celebration

For a couple of years now, I’ve been meaning to join the Daring Bakers but, as I was studying abroad and didn’t have a kitchen, I had to put it off. Until now. Since I’m back home for good, I quickly applied, waited and got my acceptance email and read the recipe over and over again. Excited? Yes, of course!

This month’s challenge was hosted by Jana of Cherry Tea Cakes and she got us making Fraisiers! Which is absolutely delicious so thank you!

At first, I thought of using only mangoes (since we were allowed to use other fruits) and I wanted to use a local fruit as strawberries are hard to come by here and are rather expensive but as I visited the grocery the other day, lo and behold, les fraises were there! So I decided to use both fruits as we are rather known for our mangoes ;).

Coincidentally, I made this cake around the time my sister-in-law gave birth! I’m extremely excited to be an aunt to Vivienne Elise (Angelina Jolie much? xD)! She wasn’t due til August but she’s completely well and healthy. She’s also rather tiny at the moment but absolutely adorable :3

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Wow Kat! Congratulations on the newborn niece! :) –and congratulations on your first challenge! That cake looks delicious. Curious to find out how mango and strawberry fare together on a cake!

    Reply
  2. The frasier looks so tasty! I’ve never had one with mango. Congrats on being accepted to the Daring Bakers group!

    Oh, and by the way, your niece is adorable!!

    Reply
  3. Great job on the challenge, you looked like a seasoned baker by the looks of your first challenge. Congrats on the safe arrival of your niece, nothing sweeter than newborns. Welcome to the DB!

    Reply
  4. Very cute cake. Good job!

    Reply
  5. Beautiful work on your first challenge! Love the addition of mango and those vibrant colors!

    Reply
  6. Kat

     /  July 29, 2011

    Thank you very much everyone! Appreciate the welcome ^^

    Reply
  7. yeah you’re right the baby is absolutely adorable. that cake,I made with 1 1/2 cups fresh strawberries diced up and also with mangoes. It’s a good thing that you thought of adding mangoes.

    Reply
  8. Welcome to the Daring Bakers! Your cake looks wonderful.

    Reply
  9. Great job on your first challenge & congrats for being an aunt of such precious! Beautiful photos!

    Reply
  10. I do accept as true with all of the ideas you’ve presented for your post. They are very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too quick for beginners. May you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

