Baked eggs

Do you love eggs? Coz I do! I like ‘em fried, scrambled, made into omelettes, custards, and now baked! Ever since I saw Ina Garten make Baked Eggs on her show, I’ve always wanted to try it myself.

In this version, I used cherry tomatoes, ham, gruyere cheese and just a bit of thyme.

Ate this for brunch today and I’m sitting here full and satisfied. Try it out yourself!

Baked eggs

good for 1 hungry person


200g ham, sliced into small cubes

5 cherry tomatoes

1/4 cup gruyere cheese, shredded (you can add more if you want)

1/2 tsp thyme

2 eggs

salt & pepper

-Preheat oven to 180C. Position rack on the top most.

-In a small pan, cook the sliced ham. After thoroughly cooked, put onto your baking dish.

-Slice cherry tomatoes into halves and add with the ham.

-Sprinkle gruyere cheese and thyme.

-Crack the eggs over.

-Add salt & pepper.

-Bake for 15mins or until the whites are set.

-Serve with toast ;)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Yummers – I love what this looks like – I’m not keen on toms with eggs but I think this one would definitely be something I’d enjoy enormously. x

    Reply
  2. OMG! I am practically drooling. These look gorgeous. Great idea for a super quick dinner. Thanks! I’d up the calorie content and have it with grilled cheese sandwiches. Just sayin’! ;)

    Reply
  3. Does the yolk stay runny or cook threw when you bake this??

    Reply
  4. puccithings

     /  November 4, 2010

    You dish looks so delicious! I am going to attempt to make it this weekend.

    [^_^]

    Reply
  5. Looks soooooooo good! You like eggs eh? :> Hahaha! You should cook me stuff like this when you get here.. sans the ham!

    Reply
  6. You are so capable of making me hungry! I just, couldn’t stop myself from drooling right now….=P

    Reply
  7. This will make a nice and quick breakfast for me!

    Reply
  8. Annabelle

     /  February 19, 2012

    Absolutely delicious. I made it for a crowd and doubled recipe. I didn’t have ham or gruyere so I substituted canadian bacon and light mozzarella cheese and a sprinkle of parmesan. I added a tablespoon or 2 of butter. It tasted better then I thought and my whole family loved it – even the kids. Definitely a keeper recipe. Thank you!

    Reply
  1. 11.03.2010 … « Dennard's Clipping Service
  2. it’s recipe wednesday… | KtebCdog's Food Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

