First Fall

Hey everyone! First of all, I would like to apologize for the lack of updates. I came back to Switzerland on the last week of August but I haven’t been able to bake since I started my internship as well. Work life is extremely exhausting thus the lack of time to bake since I usually sleep or buy essentials during my days off.

But, I recently moved to a new place with a fellow Filipina, Nelma, who happens to work in the same place as I do. Best part is, she and her husband, Frankie cooks! I was and still am excited about this as I’ll be staying here for the next few months before moving back to school. Hopefully, I’ll be able to make more frequent updates.

Aside from that, this also happens to be my first fall/autumn, hence the title of the post. I only happen to be here between the last months of winter and spring but never during summer and fall.

When I moved in last week, I saw a huge bunch of apples being stored outside and it turns out that a friend of theirs harvested them and gave it. We have been thinking of what to make of them and settled on pies. Nelma wanted these apple turnovers you get from McDonalds which we will be making soon because I happen to like those too!

Also, one thing I love about grocery shopping here is finding ingredients or products that aren’t readily available back home. I could easily lose track of time going through isles and discovering something new and fascinating.

One such product is ready made puff pastry.

I know all of you out there must’ve used them a thousand times but this would be my first. That’s 2  firsts in this post, I just noticed. ;)

So today, we made an apple pie. Simple, yet oh so delicious. Crunchy from the puff pastry with soft and chewy baked apples and the apricot jam just goes really well with the apples.

Forgive me for the not so evenly arranged apples xD

Using the puff pastry as the crust, we simply cut the apples into thin slices, laid them out on the dough and baked it in the oven. Afterwards, we spread some apricot jam Frankie made a few weeks back with apricots given to him by his friend again. (How awesome is that to have friends give you kilos of fruit they harvested?!)

Apple Pie

1 (500g) store bought puff pastry

4 apples, peeled, cored and sliced thinly

1/2 cup apricot jam

Instructions:

-Preheat oven to 200C.

-Roll out puff pastry to fit an 8″ round.

-Lay out the sliced apples into whatever design you wish.

-Bake for 25-30 mins or until pastry is a nice golden brown.

-Meanwhile, heat apricot jam and spread over the apples after the pie cools a bit.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy my update and hopefully you’ll hear from me soon. :)

Btw, any of you guys watch Top Chef Just Desserts? I normally don’t really watch Top Chef or the like but I really look forward to each new episode since it’s all about desserts! ^^

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. GREAT TO HAVE YOU BACK KP!! <3 Apple pie looks delicious, and you should take advantage of the seasons there! Don't forget to buy organic (from farmers markets) or get them free (I agree w/ the harvesting part btw, that's awesome.. don't worry,you and I can trade basils when you get back too. HAHAHAHHAHA)

    Reply
    • Kat

       /  October 5, 2010

      Thanks BFF <3 I definitely will take advantage of the seasons here ^^ I'll see you in June? xD Now you go and update after finals ;)

      Reply
  2. What a great-looking fall treat! I always make apple turnovers around this time of year!

    Reply
  3. Wonderful apple pie!

    Reply
  4. What a wonderful sounding apple cake, I’ve goat loads of apples to use up thanks to the trees in my back yard, and a girl can only eat so much applesauce LOL.
    *kisses* HH

    Reply
  5. everytime i surf the net, i always looks for new recipes on my favorite food blogs `

    Reply
  6. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would truly benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thank you!

    Reply
  7. here

     /  April 20, 2013

    Hello there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  8. This page really has all of the info I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    Reply
  9. That is a good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Brief but very precise info… Thank you for sharing this one. A must read article!

    Reply
  10. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the finest blogs on the web. I am going to highly recommend this web site!

    Reply
  11. Deference to post author, some great information .

    Reply
  1. Apple Turnovers « Baking Between Cities

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

